Robert T. Clark

Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced today that Robert Clark the Club’s long time Executive Director would be retiring from his position on September 1, 2009 after fifty years of service to the organization. Clark, a Maxwell Football Club member since 1959 has overseen the development of numerous programs that impacted football at all levels. Under his leadership the Maxwell Football Club has established a national presence with members in over 40 states.

Clark piloted the development of the Chuck Bednarik Award (Collegiate Defensive Player of the Year), the Francis “Reds” Bagnell Award (Contributions to Football), the George Munger Award (Collegiate Coach of the Year), and the “Greasy” Neale Award (Professional Coach of the Year). Mr. Clark also was a key player in the growth of the Maxwell Football Club’s High School Scholarship programs in the Philadelphia area and is a founding member and officer of the NCFAA (National Collegiate Football Awards Association).

Under Clark’s guidance the Maxwell Football Club developed strategic partnerships on a nation wide scale. In recent years the Club has participated as a partner in the Football University camp program and has established a High School All American Team which is announced each January in conjunction with the US Army All American Bowl Game. The Maxwell Football Club also provides outreach programs involving coaches’ education, equipment safety, college preparation and drug and alcohol education.

Reflecting on Clark’s tenure Maxwell Club President Ron Jaworski offered the following thoughts.

“The contribution that Bob Clark has made to the game of football at all levels is immense. His service to the Maxwell Football Club, our awards, educational programs and scholarship initiatives has impacted so many young people involved in the game and in the community. Bob was always the first person to offer assistance to a person or group in need and his efforts truly epitomize the Club’s mission of developing young people into the future leaders of our country. It is rare to find any person who devotes fifty years of their life to any organization and the Maxwell Club is fortunate to have flourished under Bob’s stewardship for so many years.”

The Maxwell Club Board has designated Mark Wolpert as the Club’s new Executive Vice President and Director. Wolpert, 46, is a Philadelphia native and has been an active member of the Maxwell Club since 1997. He has served as an Executive Board Officer and Director of Collegiate Awards for the Club since 2002. He also has been the Club’s primary point of contact with key partners such as Football University and the US Army All American Bowl.

Jaworski said, “We are excited to have Mark on board to serve as our Executive Director as we move into the future. He has demonstrated a tremendous commitment to our organization and the continued development of our programs on both the regional and national levels. As the Maxwell Club continues to grow his energy and enthusiasm will help us to reach our goals.”

Wolpert commented,” It is a great honor and responsibility to be able to serve the Maxwell Football Club in the capacity of Executive Director. And to follow a man like Bob Clark who has given five decades of service to our organization is truly a humbling experience for me. I look forward to the challenges that lie ahead as well as the responsibility to continue the traditions that the Club has established over the last seventy-three years.”

In addition to the administrative change at the Executive Director position, Jaworski also announced the appointment of new Executive Board Officers for the Club. In addition to Wolpert, the following individuals will serve as Club Officers; Pamela S. Specht (Vice President of Special Events), Raymond J. Johnston (Treasurer and Director of High School Awards) and Mark Dianno (Vice President of Legal Affairs). Jaworski said, “All of our new Board Officers have been long time members of the Maxwell Club. They have demonstrated the desire and commitment to building our programs and they also provide a level of energy that will allow the Club to continue its’ growth. Each individual brings a unique set of skills that together form a very strong management team.”

The Maxwell Football Club is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website,

Award Profile

Winner: Reds Bagnell Award – 2009

Former Executive director of the Maxwell Football Club