The Maxwell Award

College Player of the Year

Each year the Maxwell Football Club presents the Maxwell Award for the College Player of the Year. This award is presented in honor of Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell, legendary college player, official and sports columnist.

Who Votes?

Voters for the Maxwell College Awards are NCAA Head College Football Coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club & sportswriters and sportscasters from across the country

This Years Winner…

The winner of the 79th Maxwell Award is Lamar Jackson, University of Louisville QB

Facts About Lamar Jackson

It all happened so fast, like a Lamar Jackson burst through a bewildered defense.

Jackson was not an unknown commodity in 2015, his first season removed from Boynton Beach (Fla.) High School. As a true freshman, the wiry teen with sprinter speed flashed hints of his potential, and he finished his debut by being named the MVP of the Music City Bowl. But this good? This fast? It defied the usual year-over-year progression made by such a young athlete playing such a high-profile position.

Read more about Lamar Jackson...

Previous Maxwell Winners

2015 Derrick Henry University of Alabama
2014 Marcus Mariota University of Oregon
2013 AJ McCarron University of Alabama
2012 Manti Te’o Notre Dame
2011 Andrew Luck Stanford University
2010 Cam Newton Auburn University
2009 Colt McCoy University of Texas
2008 Tim Tebow University of Florida
2007 Tim Tebow University of Florida
2006 Brady Quinn University of Notre Dame
2005 Vince Young The University of Texas