Greasy Neale Award

Pro Coach of the Year

When the Maxwell Football Club decided that they would give an Award for the Outstanding Pro Coach of the Year, the name that came to everyone’s mind was Earle “Greasy” Neale.

Who Votes?

Voters for all Maxwell Professional Awards are NFL coaching staffs and football personnel, members of the Maxwell Football Club and the Pro Writers of America Association, and local media.

This Years Winner…

The winner of the 29th Annual Earle “Greasy” Neale Award for Professional Coach of the Year is Doug Pederson of the Philadelphia Eagles.

Facts About Doug Pederson

It seemed to be Philadelphia’s favorite parlor game last summer: Let’s question Doug Pederson’s head coaching ability. Everyone played. Fans, sportswriters, talk show hosts, even former NFL general managers who were trying to remain relevant cashed in on the doubt surrounding Pederson. Adding to that fodder was a story before the season that Eagles’ defensive coordinator Jim Schwartz was usurping Pederson with designs on becoming the next Eagles’ head coach.

Read more about Doug Pederson


2016 Jakc Del Rio Oakland Raiders
2015 Ron Rivera Carolina Panthers
2014 Bruce Arians Arizona Cardinals
2013 Chip Kelly Philadelphia Eagles
2012 Chuck Pagano and Bruce Arians Indianapolis Colts
2011 Mike McCarthy Green Bay Packers
2010 Andy Reid Philadelphia Eagles
2009 Sean Payton New Orleans Saints
2008 Jeff Fisher Tennessee Titans
2007 Bill Belichick New England Patriots
2006 Sean Payton New Orleans Saints
2005 Tony Dungy Indianapolis Colts
2004 Marty Schottenheimer San Diego Chargers