George Munger Award

College Coach of the Year

The award is named for former University of Pennsylvania coach George Munger. His devotion to ethics in athletics, and his commitment to education is the standard for which all college coaches should strive.

Who Votes?

Voters for the Maxwell College Awards are NCAA Head College Football Coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club & sportswriters and sportscasters from across the country.

This Years Winner…

The 25th Annual George Munger Award winner for College Coach of the Year is Nick Saban of University of Alabama.

Facts About Nick Saban

Saban is the premier head coach in college football, an opinion with so much support that it borders on fact. The greatest of all-time? He’s quickly headed in that direction, if he hasn’t already arrived. Of course, the rub of being so widely acclaimed is that expectations are perennially set in a different galaxy. Fail to win a league title and compete for a national championship, and it’s an off year that warrants a mea culpa.

Read more about Nick Saban


2015 Dabo Swinney Clemson University
2014 Dan Mullen Mississippi State University
2013 David Cutcliffe Duke University
2012 Bill O’Brien Penn State University
2011 Brady Hoke Michigan
2010 Frank Beamer Virginia Tech University
2009 Gary Patterson Texas Christian University
2008 Mike Leach Texas Tech
2007 Mark Mangino University of Kansas
2006 Greg Schiano Rutgers University
2004 Urban Meyer University of Utah
2003 Pete Carroll University of Southern California