Chuck Bednarik Award

College Defensive Player of the Year

The College Defensive Player of the Year Award is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik, College and Pro Football Hall of Famer.

Who Votes?

Voters for the Maxwell College Awards are NCAA Head College Football Coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club & sportswriters and sportscasters from across the country

This Years Winner…

The winner of the 22nd Chuck Bednarik Award is Jonathan Allen,defensive lineman extraordinaire.

Facts About Jonathan Allen

Allen, at his very core, is the embodiment of today’s Alabama student-athlete, from the way he prepares to the way he performs on Saturdays. So, it goes to figure that if you unlock the quintessence of No. 93, you’ve gone a long way to learning how Bama has been so dominant for such a lengthy stretch.

Read more about Jonathan Allen

Chuck Bednarik Award

2015 Tyler Matakevich Temple University
2014 Scooby Wright University of Arizona
2013 Aaron Donald University of Pittsburgh
2012 Manti Te’o Notre Dame
2011 Tyrann Mathieu Louisiana State University
2010 Patrick Peterson Louisiana State University
2009 Ndamukong Suh University of Nebraska
2008 Rey Maualuga University of Southern California
2007 Dan Connor The Pennsylvania State Univsitery
2006 Paul Posluszny The Pennsylvania State University
2004 David Pollack University of Georgia
2003 Teddy Lehman University of Oklahoma