In News, Press Release


The Maxwell Football Club (MFC) and presenting sponsor adidas today announced the 2018 watch list for the Maxwell Club’s National High School Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year awards which are presented yearly to the nation’s best scholastic football player on each side of the ball.

The award was established in 2007 and former winners include Jacob Eason (Lake Stevens HS – Georgia), Trenton Thompson (2014 Westover HS – Georgia), Will Grier (2013 Davidson Day School – Florida), Derrick Henry (2012 Yulee HS – Alabama), Noah Spence (2011 Bishop McDevitt HS – Ohio State), Jeff Driskel (2010 Hagerty HS – Florida), Sharif Floyd (2009 George Washington HS – Florida), Jamarkus McFarland (2008 Lufkin HS – Oklahoma) and DeVier Posey (2007 Cincinnati LaSalle HS – Ohio State). Last season for the first time both offensive and defensive players were recognized, 2017 honors going to Trevor Lawrence (Cartersville, GA High School/Clemson) and Taron Vincent (IMG Academy/Ohio State).

The Maxwell Football Club has been recognizing excellence at all levels of football since 1935 and has a major focus on high school football nationally, while adidas currently outfits over 30 collegiate FBS (Football Bowl Subdivision) teams as well as some of the top high school programs in the country.

We are very excited to continue our partnership with adidas as the presenting sponsor of the MFC National High School Offensive & Defensive Player of the Year awards. These awards have gained a great deal of notoriety on a national scale since its inception and partnering with a company like adidas which is known for putting innovation at the forefront of their business model will only continue to enhance the award’s presence and allow more opportunities for aspiring athletes..

  • Mark Wolpert, MFC Executive Director

The Maxwell Football Club and adidas have a rich history with the game of football and we’re proud to be associated with the longest running football club in the country. Our mission is to help athletes perform better and we look forward partnering with the MFC to identify the very best High School football player in the country.

  • Shannon Ferbrache, adidas Dir. Of US Sports – Grassroots

The initial watch list for the MFC NATIONAL OFFENSIVE and DEFENSIVE HIGH SCHOOL PLAYER OF THE YEAR AWARDS PRESENTED BY ADIDAS are below. Players have been selected by the MFC National Selection Committee and the Club reserves the right to make additions and subtractions to this list as the 2016 season unfolds. 16 semifinalists for each award will be announced on November 13th and 6 finalists will be announced on December 19th.

The winner of the 2018 MFC NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL PLAYER OF THE YEAR AWARD PRESENTED BY ADIDAS will be announced on Wednesday January 16, 2019 and the formal presentation of the award will take place at the Maxwell Football Club National Awards Gala that will take place on Friday March 8, 2019 at the Tropicana Hotel and Casino in Atlantic City, New Jersey.