Tri-State Player Award

Tri-State Player of the Year

Less than five minutes were all that separated Rutgers LB Khaseem Greene from the completion of another successful season. And then misfortune struck in the waning moments of the 2011 Pinstripe Bowl. As Greene exploded through the Iowa State line, a scene familiar to the opposition, he planted awkwardly on the Yankee Stadium grass and snapped a bone just above his right ankle. It was one of those gruesome injuries that can make a stomach sick … and a once-promising career derail.

In an instant, Greene’s offseason plans were altered, his future in football uncertain. Topping the to-do list would be a seven-month rehab that included lots of leaning on crutches, teammates and family for support. This injury was a major setback, to be sure. But this was no ordinary student-athlete. Greene has been staring down adversity throughout his life, whipping tall odds as if they were lumbering offensive linemen.

Read more about Khaseem Greene...

Past Winners

Khaseem Greene Rutgers University
Mohamed Sanu Rutgers
Matthew Szczur Villanova University
Kenny Britt Rutgers University
Bill Zwaan, Jr. West Chester University
Ray Rice Rutgers University
Adam Knoblauch Delaware Valley College
Joe McCourt Lafayette College
Andy Hall University of Delaware
Dan Klecko Temple University
Brian Westbrook Villanova University