Tri-State Coach Award

Tri-State Coach of the Year

The Maxwell Football Club inaugurated this award to honor a high school or college coach who has not only produced great football teams, but has also motivated their players to do their very best at the next level, whether it be football or the business world.

The winner of the 15th Annual Tri-State Award for the Tri-State Coach of the Year is Isaac Collins, Widener College.

The Pride enjoyed one of those seasons for the ages in 2012 with their sterling 11-1 finish, reaching the Division III NCAA quarterfinals before losing to eventual national champion Mount Union on December 1.

Widener's amazing 2012 saw the Pride outscore their opponents 550 points to 248, averaging a stunning 45.8 points a game, and averaging 6.4 yards per play.

In three years, Collins transformed a dormant program into a national power once again. He inherited a team that went 3-7 in 2009 before taking over in 2010. Over Collins' three years, the Pride went a combined 25-8.

Widener's amazing 2012 season earned Collins Middle Atlantic Conference and East Region Coach of the Year.

Read more about Isaac Collins...

Past Winners

Isaac Collins Widener
Jim Clements Delaware Valley College
Al Golden Temple University
Andy Talley Villanova University
K.C. Keeler University of Delaware
Gamp Pellegrini Malvern Prep
Jay Accorsi Rowan University
G.A. Mangus Delaware Valley College
K.C. Keeler University of Delaware
Al Bagnoli University of Pennsylvania
Bill Zwaan Widener University
Harold "Tubby" Raymond University of Delaware
Mike Pettine Central Bucks West H.S., Doylestown
Frank Girardi Lycoming College