Maxwell Football Club Announces Collegiate Coach of the Year Finalists

December 5, 2012 Philadelphia, PA

The Maxwell Football Club (MFC), the oldest football club in America, announced today the finalists for the Club’s Collegiate Coach of the Year Award. Named as finalists are Brian Kelly (Notre Dame), Bill O’Brien (Penn State) and Bill Snyder (Kansas State)

Kelly has led the Irish to an undefeated season and a 12-0 record and a #1 BCS ranking while navigating one of the most demanding schedules in America. Notre Dame has made a dramatic resurgence under Kelly’s guidance and will face Alabama for the National Championship in January.

Bill O’Brien took over as the head man at Penn State replacing the legendary Joe Paterno as head coach after the better part of 5 decades. The challenge was not only to replace a legend but to guide the program through one of the most difficult times in the history of the university. O’Brien not only met expectations but exceeded them. Despite his program receiving sanctions from the NCAA and having many key players transfer schools, O'Brien led the Nittany Lions to eight victories. A team that lost pretty much everything actually finished ahead of Wisconsin in the Leaders Division.

Snyder has led the Wildcats to an 11 win season, Big 12 title and a top 10 national ranking this season. This marks the most wins for this program since 2003. It has already been a historic season, as Kansas State was at one point ranked No. 1 in the BCS rankings and the Cats have their eyes set on a Fiesta Bowl showdown with the Oregon Ducks come January. Snyder has basically built this school from the ground up, but in the last two seasons he has taken it to completely new heights.
Voting is now open for the finalist selection for the MFC Collegiate Coach of the Year. Eligible voters include, NCAA Bowl Subdivision Head Coaches and Football Sports Information Directors, Maxwell Football Club members and selected national media. The winner announcement will be made on December 19, 2012 and the award will be formally presented at the 76th Maxwell Awards Gala which will be held on March 1, 2012 at the Harrah’s Entertainment Resort in Atlantic City.

The Maxwell Football Club was founded in 1935 and is the oldest football club of its kind in America. The organization is devoted to recognizing excellence at all levels of football from high school through the NFL ranks. Under the stewardship of MFC President Ron Jaworski the Club has grown rapidly and has members in 40 states. The MFC provides educational and training programs for players and coaches, and also provides scholarships to outstanding student-athletes who demonstrate excellence on the field, in the classroom and in the community.

Information of Maxwell Football Club membership can be seen at Questions concerning the Bagnell Award should be directed to MFC Executive Director Mark Wolpert or by calling the Club’s offices at 215-643-3833.

The Maxwell and Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,

The Home Depot College Football Awards will feature the live presentation of nine player awards; the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contribution to College Football Award; Disney Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award; AllState Good Hands Award; and student athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team. Fans can visit the show's dedicated Web site at to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.

Contact Info