The 2013 Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Awards Semifinalists

October 29, 2013 Philadelphia, PA

Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2013 Semifinalists for the 77th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year and the 19th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. The respective lists include a field of 16 candidates for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards as selected by the Maxwell Football Club National Selection Committee.

A very strong field of Maxwell Award semifinalists includes a representative from every major FBS conference as well two student-athletes each from Baylor, Oregon State and Texas A&M. Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron and Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel are repeat semifinalists from a season ago.

On the defensive side of the ball, the field of contenders is comprised of fresh faces, all of whom are making their debuts as Bednarik Award semifinalists. Six different conferences are represented, led by five student-athletes from the ACC. Sophomore defensive end Leonard Williams of USC is the lone underclassman on the 2013 list.

Last season, the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards went to linebacker Manti Te’o of Notre Dame. This was the first time a player was a dual winner of the awards in the Maxwell Football Club’s history. Te’o is currently a member of the San Diego Chargers.

The winners of the 77th Maxwell Award and the 19th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show which will be broadcast on ESPN on December 12, 2013. Three finalists for each award will be announced on November 25, 2013 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner on Friday, February 28, 2014 in Atlantic City, New Jersey. Semifinalist voting for both of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Wednesday, October 30th and close on Sunday November 24th. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media. All Semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order with the player's school, position and class designated.

The Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

2013 Maxwell Award Semifinalists:

Player Class Position College
Tajh Boyd SR QB Clemson
Teddy Bridgewater JR QB Louisville
Ka'Deem Carey JR RB Arizona
Derek Carr SR QB Fresno State
Brandin Cooks JR WR Oregon State
Mike Evans Soph WR Texas A & M
Melvin Gordon Soph RB Wisconsin
Sean Mannion JR QB Oregon State
Johnny Manziel Soph QB Texas A & M
Marcus Mariota Soph QB Oregon
AJ McCarron SR QB Alabama
Aaron Murray SR QB Georgia
Bryce Petty JR QB Baylor
Bishop Sankey JR RB Washington
Lache Seastrunk JR RB Baylor
Jameis Winston FR QB Florida State

View The Maxwell Semi-Finalists Profiles Here

2013 Chuck Bednarik Award Semifinalists:

Player Class Position College
Anthony Barr SR LB UCLA
Vic Beasley JR DE Clemson
Chris Borland SR LB Wisconsin
Aaron Donald SR DT Pittsburgh
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu JR CB Oregon
Kyle Fuller SR CB Virginia Tech
Jackson Jeffcoat SR DE Texas
Lamarcus Joyner SR CB Florida State
Khalil Mack SR LB Buffalo
C.J. Mosley SR LB Alabama
Trent Murphy SR LB Stanford
Michael Sam SR DE Missouri
Ryan Shazier JR LB Ohio State
Kyle Van Noy SR LB BYU
Nikita Whitlock SR DT Wake Forest
Leonard Williams Soph DE USC

View The Chuck Bednarik Semi-Finalists Profiles Here

Contact Info

Any questions or requests for additional information can be directed to Maxwell Club Executive Director Mark Wolpert ( or to Maxwell Club Director of College Awards Richard Cirminiello (