2012 Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Award Semifinalists Announced


Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2012 Semifinalists for the 76th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year and the 18th Chuck Bednarik Award presented by Cracker Barrel for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. The respective lists include a field of 16 candidates for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards as selected by the Maxwell Football Club National Selection Committee.

Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein, USC receiver Marqise Lee and running back Kenjon Barner of Oregon headline a strong field of semifinalists for the Maxwell Award. Lee’s Trojan teammate Matt Barkley is the only player who repeats as a semifinalist from 2011.

On the defensive side of the ball, Notre Dame’s Manti Te’o and Georgia’s Jarvis Jones head the nominees for the Bednarik Award and are both also semifinalists for the Maxwell Award. Alabama defensive back Dee Milliner and linebacker C.J. Mosley are two of eight Bednarik nominees from the Southeastern Conference. Arthur Brown of Kansas State and Notre Dame’s Manti Te’o are repeat semifinalists from 2011.
Last season, the Maxwell Award went to Andrew Luck from Stanford University while the Bednarik went to Tyrann Mathieu of LSU. Luck is now the starting quarterback for the Indianapolis Colts.

The winners of the 76th Maxwell Award and the 18th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show which will be broadcast on ESPN on December 6, 2012. Three finalists for each award will be announced on November 19, 2012 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Gala which will be held on Friday, March 1, 2013 at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey. Semifinalist voting for both of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Tuesday, October 30th and close on Sunday November 18th. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media. All Semifinalists are listed in alphabetical order with the player's school, position and class designated.

2012 Maxwell Award Semifinalists

Player Pos College
Montee Ball Sr RB University of Wisconsin
Matt Barkley Sr QB University of Southern California
Kenjon Barner Sr RB University of Oregon
Giovani Bernard Soph RB University of North Carolina
Johnathan Franklin Sr RB UCLA
Mike Gillislee Sr RB University of Florida
Jarvis Jones Jr LB University of Georgia
Collin Klein Sr QB Kansas State University
Marqise Lee Soph WR University of Southern California
EJ Manuel Sr QB Florida State University
Johnny Manziel Fr QB Texas A&M University
AJ McCarron Jr QB University of Alabama
Braxton Miller Soph QB Ohio State University
Geno Smith Sr QB West Virginia University
Manti Te’o Sr LB University of Notre Dame
De’Anthony Thomas So RB/ATH University of Oregon

2012 Chuck Bednarik Award Semifinalists

Player Class Pos College
Johnthan Banks Sr DB Mississippi State University
Arthur Brown Sr LB Kansas State University
Jadeveon Clowney Soph DE University of South Carolina
Matt Elam Jr DB University of Florida
Khaseem Greene Sr LB Rutgers University
Johnathan Hankins Jr DL Ohio State University
Jarvis Jones Jr LB University of Georgia
Star Lotulelei Sr DL University of Utah
Dee Milliner Jr DB University of Alabama
Sam Montgomery Jr LB Louisiana State University
Damontre Moore Jr DL Texas A&M University
C.J. Mosley Jr LB University of Alabama
Jordan Poyer Sr DB Oregon State University
Will Sutton Jr DL Arizona State University
Manti Te’o Sr LB University of Notre Dame
Bjoern Werner Jr DL Florida State University

Contact Info

All questions concerning the awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club can be directed to:
Mr. Mark Wolpert (MFC Executive Director) at mwolpert@maxwellfootballclub.org, or to
Mr. Richard Cirminiello (Director of Collegiate Awards) at rcirminiello@maxwellfootballclub.org.

The Maxwell Club and its awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website, ncfaa.org.