2009 Maxwell and Bednarik Award Watch Lists

August 13, 2009

Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski today announced the 2009 Watch Lists for the 73rd Maxwell Award and the 15th Chuck Bednarik Award. Each list is comprised of fifty-five players who were selected based on their performance during the 2008 season.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell. The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented since 1995 and is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik, a former University of Pennsylvania and Philadelphia Eagle great. Mr. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame 69’ and the NFL Hall of Fame 67’.

Tim Tebow of the University of Florida was the recipient of the 72nd Maxwell Award and Rey Maualuga from the University of Southern California was awarded the 14th Chuck Bednarik Award for their outstanding performance during the 2008 season. Tebow, the first sophomore to ever win the Maxwell Award, and also only the second two time winner of the award returns for his senior season with the Gators. Maualuga is now a member of the Cincinnati Bengals.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced on November 4th and three finalists for each award will be announced November 23rd. The winners of the 2008 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show which will be held on December 10, 2009. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah’s Entertainment Atlantic City on March 5, 2010.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club’s Selection Committee and the Maxwell Club reserves the right to make additions and subtractions to these lists as the 2009 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA Sports Information Directors, Head Coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for these awards.

The Maxwell and Chuck Bednarik Awards are members of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official website, ncfaa.org.

Any questions or requests for additional information can be directed to Robert Clark Maxwell Club Executive Director (bobclark@maxwellfootballclub.org) or to Maxwell Club Vice President of College Awards Mark Wolpert (mwolpert@maxwellfootballclub.org).

Contact Info

Bob Clark
P.O. Box 1067
Roslyn, PA 19001
Phone (610) 277-8900
Fax (610) 277-2239