The Maxwell Award

College Player of the Year

Each year the Maxwell Football Club presents the Maxwell Award for the College Player of the Year. This award is presented in honor of Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell, legendary college player, official and sports columnist.

For the 2012 season, Manti Te'o Notre Dame Linebacker, won the 76rd Annual Maxwell Football Club's College Player of the Year Award.

Who Votes?

Voters for the Maxwell College Awards are NCAA Head College Football Coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club & sportswriters and sportscasters from across the country

Facts About Manti
The 6-2, 255-pound senior from Laie, Hawaii, is the rock on which the powerful Notre Dame defense has been built. A model of consistency, Te’o has started 46 straight games for the Irish and posted 3 consecutive 100 tackle seasons. This year Te’o also has registered 7 interceptions which is tied for the second best in the country. The Notre Dame defense has allowed only 10.33 points per game in 2012.

Read more about Manti Te'o...

Manti Te’o Notre Dame
Andrew Luck Stanford University
Cam Newton Auburn University
Colt McCoy University of Texas
Tim Tebow University of Florida
Tim Tebow University of Florida
Brady Quinn University of Notre Dame
Vince Young The University of Texas
Jason White University of Oklahoma
Eli Manning University of Mississippi
Larry Johnson Pennsylvania State University
Ken Dorsey University of Miami
Drew Brees Purdue University
Ron Dayne University of Wisconsin
Ricky Williams University of Texas