George Munger Award

College Coach of the Year

The 22st Annual George Munger Award winner for College Coach of the Year is Bill O’Brien of Penn State.

The award is named for former University of Pennsylvania coach George Munger. His devotion to ethics in athletics, and his commitment to education is the standard for which all college coaches should strive.

Who Votes?

Voters for the Maxwell College Awards are NCAA Head College Football Coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club & sportswriters and sportscasters from across the country.

About Bill

Bill O’Brien took over as the head man at Penn State replacing the legendary Joe Paterno as head coach after the better part of 5 decades. The challenge was not only to replace a legend but to guide the program through one of the most difficult times in the history of the university. O’Brien not only met expectations but exceeded them. Despite his program receiving sanctions from the NCAA and having many key players transfer schools, O'Brien led the Nittany Lions to eight victories. A team that lost pretty much everything actually finished ahead of Wisconsin in the Leaders Division.

Read more about Bill O’Brien...

Past Winners

Award Year
2012 Bill O’Brien Penn State
2011 Brady Hoke Michigan State
2010 Frank Beamer Virginia Tech
2009 Gary Patterson Texas Christian University
2008 Mike Leach Texas Tech
2007 Mark Mangino University of Kansas
2006 Greg Schiano Rutgers University
2004 Urban Meyer University of Utah
2003 Pete Carroll University of Southern California
2002 Tyrone Willingham University of Notre Dame
2001 Ralph Friedgen University of Maryland
2000 Bob Stoops Oklahoma University
1999 Frank Beamer Virginia Tech University
1998 Phil Fulmer University of Tennessee