The Bert Bell Award

Pro Player of the Year

The 54th Annual Bert Bell Award for Professional Player of the Year is Adrian Peterson, running back for the Minnesota Vikings.

The Professional Player of the Year Award is named in honor of Bert Bell, founder of the Maxwell Football Club and once Commissioner of the National Football League.

Who Votes?

Voters for all Maxwell Professional Awards are NFL coaching staffs and football personnel, members of the Maxwell Football Club and the Pro Writers of America Association, and local media.

Why Adrian?

Peterson, a unanimous 1st-team All-Pro selection who became just the 7th player to rush for 2,000 yards in a seson in 2012, also won this prestigious award in 2008.

Read more about Adrian Peterson...

Past Winners

Award Year
2012 Adrian Peterson Minnesota Vikings
2011 Aaron Rodgers Green Bay Packers
2010 Michael Vick Philadelphia Eagles
2009 Drew Brees New Orleans Saints
2008 Adrian Peterson Minnesota Vikings
2007 Tom Brady New England Patriots
2006 LaDainian Tomlinson San Diego Chargers
2005 Shaun Alexander San Diego Chargers
Peyton Manning Indianapolis Colts
Rich Gannon Oakland Raiders
2001 Marshall Faulk St. Louis Rams
1999 Kurt Warner St. Louis Rams
1998 Randall Cunningham Minnesota Vikings